Skip navigation.

About Us

Set up of Department
With the Enactment of Maharashtra Public Libraries Act, 1967 the directorate of the libraries was set up in the state of Maharashtra on 2nd May 1968. Under the directorate upto 31st March 2009 one state central library, 6 divisional libraries, 20 District Libraries and one reference library and 6 offices of Asstt. Director of Libraries & Head Quarter of Directorate thus 35 offices are established.  
 The Director of Libraries is the Head of the Department and he has been entrusted with certain functions under Superintendence, direction and control of the State Government. He is responsible for planning, maintenance, organization and development of Public Libraries and Library system in the State. He is assisted by the Divisional/Asstt. Directors working at the Divisional Head Quarters.  These (6) Asstt. Directors are responsible for supervision, inspection and technical guidance for the recognized public libraries. They have been allotted with the staff viz. Inspectors and Sr. Clerks.  
The Director is assisted by one Dy. Director and one Asstt. Director at head office.  Dy. Director looks after establishment so also, the work of Book Selection Committee and preparation of bibliographies. He is expected to give technical guidance to the Divisional Libraries. The State Central Library, established at Mumbai and the Divisional Libraries established at Pune and Nagpur, are under the control of Class I Officers. They have been given the additional responsibilities of receiving, processing and preserving the books received under the Press and Registration of Books Act, 1867. They are also at the apex of the Inter-Library loan system in the state and division respectively.